District candidates announced

By Sarah Pridgeon

Filing has now closed for the special district board members who will be elected at the general in November and, this time around, an abundance of candidates have put their names forward for your consideration.

Five seats will be elected for the school district, each for a four-year term. One trustee each will represent Hulett and Moorcroft and three will be elected as at-large officers.

Incumbent Chase Williams will run for the Moorcroft seat and current chairman Brian Marchant will aim to retain his seat representing Hulett. At large candidates include incumbents D Marlene Edwards, Rick Gill and Ken Rathbun as well as Jerome Fischbach, Peggy Howard and Dustin Buckmiller.

Two at-large trustees will be elected for four-year terms on the Crook County Medical Services District Board. Sandy Neiman will run to retain her seat alongside Trisha Habeck and Georgia Valdon.

Also taking on four-year terms will be two rural Conservation District supervisors. Incumbents Wanda Burget and Jennifer Hinkhouse will run to retain their seats.

Three museum district trustees will be elected at the general. Incumbent Catherine Carderelli and current chairman Lorie Marchant have put their names forward alongside Frank Schwegel, Rosalie Brimmer, Rod Knudson and Peggy Howard.

Finally, for the first time, candidates will appear on the ballot for the Crook County Senior Services District, created in response to the community’s vote to permit senior services to receive one mill levy. Running for the five-person board are candidates Marjorie Myers, Joey Kanode, Jane West, Margaret “Babe” Lynch, Terry Wilkerson and Audrey Ebsen.